HERMANN
Interview
Universe Hermann
Producer of Concept Art
by Christiane Maehr
He is down-to-earth with a tendency to haute couture. He digs in the earth with his bare hands and handles his works of art with velvet gloves.

Over many years he grew the best vegetables in his fields in the Vorarlberg southern Rhine valley. Today he creates art which you would think is only to be found in the Big Apple. He is driven by his own thoughts and yet seems to be at rest within himself. He allows himself to be inspired by nature just as by people, towns and cities, architecture and other artwork and artists. He thinks laterally where others see only straight lines. He already has his goal in his mind's eye where others cannot see the wood for the trees. He is an individualist but willingly works in a team as only the best craftsmen, material experts and artists know that knowing and being able to are not the same things. He has made sustainability a high priority for years – whether as a farmer who lives and works in harmony with nature or as an artist who creates unique pieces.

It appears that Hermann lives in a world full of contrasts. As if two souls were living in his breast. As if he has withdrawn from agriculture in order to enter the world of art.

But in truth and at heart, Hermann is still a vegetable farmer. And precisely because his love of nature and foodstuff is greater than complying with a requirements specification, he allows new ideas to flourish: away from the barcode, back to the roots of sowing and harvesting. Hermann was just the same throughout his life as an artist and, as a farmer, ensured that a plant springs from a seed. This process, which to many appears to be self-explanatory or even "natural", for him represents the noble art of vegetable growing.

But today he is more than ever also the producer of his concept art. He orchestrates his visions by directing the artistic plays which stretch from the first inspiration to the final finishing touches of a project. He provides the templates for the creation of his thoughts – in spoken or written words, in the form of drawings, photographs or with his very own hands. Art already starts here because it is a valid case of turning the ideas of a free spirit into comprehensible words or images. Now and then the materials which are worked with show themselves to be as equally unpredictable as nature. And despite this, Hermann still demands the best craftsmanship and artistic performance in the materialization of his ideas through process-oriented work. That in doing so, some things don't always go according to plan is a part of the artistic creation process. When every object is actually unique, every step is a departure into the new and unknown.

„It appears that Hermann lives in a world full of contrasts. As if two souls were living in his breast. As if he has withdrawn from agriculture in order to enter the world of art.“

Exhibition

Vorarlbergerin-Event
12.10.2017 Seifenfabrik Lauterach
An exhibition of works with "The Queen" and "Hands Off"
ART & COLLABORATION
Spinnerei 24, 6845 Hohenems, Austria
office@hermann-art.work
Office +43 5522 848 12
© Hermann Nachbaur, 2011-2017

Branding: create-sense.com

Interview
Universe Hermann
Regisseur der Gedanken-kunst
von Christiane Maehr
Er ist bodenständig mit einem Hang zur Haute Couture. Er gräbt mit den bloßen Händen in der Erde und fasst seine Kunstobjekte mit Samthandschuhen an.

Er baute über viele Jahre bestes Gemüse auf seinen Feldern im südlichen Rheintal Vorarlbergs an. Heute erschafft er Kunst wie man sie nur im Big Apple zu finden glaubt. Er ist getrieben durch seine eigenen Gedanken und scheint doch in sich zu ruhen. Er lässt sich von der Natur genauso inspirieren wie von Menschen, Städten, Architektur und anderen Künsten und Künstlern. Er denkt quer, wo andere nur gerade Linien sehen. Er hat das Ziel schon vor Augen, wo andere den Wald vor lauter Bäumen nicht sehen. Er ist Individualist und arbeitet gerne im Team, denn nur die besten Handwerker, Materialexperten und Künstler wissen, dass Kennen und Können nicht zwei Paar Schuhe sind. Er setzt seit jeher auf Nachhaltigkeit – ob als Landwirt, der im Einklang mit der Natur lebt und arbeitet, oder als Künstler, der Unikate schafft.

Es scheint, als lebe Hermann in einer Welt voller Gegensätze. Als würden zwei Seelen in seiner Brust schlagen. Als habe er sich aus der Landwirtschaft zurückgezogen, um in die Welt der Kunst einzutreten.

In Wahrheit und im Herzen aber ist Hermann nach wie vor Gemüsebauer. Und gerade weil die Liebe zur Natur und zu den Lebensmitteln größer ist, als dem Pflichtenheft zu entsprechen, lässt er neue Ideen gedeihen: weg vom Strichcode, zurück zu den Ursprüngen des Säens und Erntens. Genauso war Hermann Zeit seines Lebens Künstler und sorgte als Landwirt dafür, dass dem Samen eine Pflanze entspringt. Dieser Prozess, der vielen als selbstverständlich oder sogar als „natürlich“ erscheint, stellt für ihn die hohe Kunst des Gemüseanbaus dar.

Heute ist er jedoch mehr denn je auch der Regisseur seiner Gedankenkunst. Er inszeniert seine Visionen, indem er die künstlerischen Spiele leitet, die sich von der ersten Inspiration bis zum letzten Feinschliff eines Projekts erstrecken. Er liefert die Vorlagen für die Gestaltung seines Gedankenguts – in ausgesprochenen oder niedergeschriebenen Worten, in Form von Zeichnungen, Fotografien oder indem er selbst Hand anlegt. Schon hier beginnt die Kunst, denn es gilt, Gedanken eines Freigeistes in verständliche Worte oder Bilder zu bringen. Die Materialien, mit denen gearbeitet wird, zeigen sich mitunter genauso unberechenbar wie die Natur. Und trotzdem hat Hermann den Anspruch, bei der Materialisierung seiner Ideen durch prozessorientiertes Schaffen handwerklich und künstlerisch am besten zu performen. Dass dabei manches nicht nach Plan läuft, ist Teil des künstlerischen Entstehungsprozesses. Wenn nämlich jedes Objekt ein Unikat ist, ist jeder Schritt ein Aufbruch ins Neue.

„Es scheint, als lebe Hermann in einer Welt voller Gegensätze. Als würden zwei Seelen in seiner Brust schlagen. Als habe er sich aus der Landwirtschaft zurückgezogen, um in die Welt der Kunst einzutreten.“

Exhibition

Vorarlbergerin-Event
12.10.2017 Seifenfabrik Lauterach
Kleine Werksausstellung mit "The Queen" und "Hands Off"
POMP - I - DO KG

HERMANN
ART & COLLABORATION
Spinnerei 24, 6845 Hohenems, Österreich
office@hermann-art.work
Büro +43 5522 848 12
© Hermann Nachbaur, 2011-2017

Branding: create-sense.com